Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Our Lady of Sacred Heart International School

 New Ireland Province, Papua New Guinea, Years Preparatory - 12

"Continuing the Mission of the MSC Sisters"



The 6 stages do not match year levels but a close comparison is as follows:

Early Stage 1 Prep

• Stage 1 Years 1 and 2

• Stage 2 Years 3 and 4

• Stage 3 Years 5 and 6

• Stage 4 Years 7 and 8

• Stage 5 Years 9 and 10

• Stage 6 Years 11 and 12

Primary - Prep to Year 2 (Early Stage 1 and Stage 1)

At OLSH International, the year levels from prep to Year 2 will be referred to as the Early Stage 1 and Stage 1. Curriculum for these year levels is derived directly from the NSW Syllabi, Early Stage 1 and Stage 1 Guidelines and the Key Learning Area (KLA) Syllabus documents.

All curriculum programs developed at OLSH International are closely linked to our stated values and beliefs about learners and learning.

The programs promote the following elements in all year levels:

  • Integrated units of work
  • Planning occurring between teachers of the same year / Stage level and including other resource personnel.
  • Ongoing monitoring and assessment based on clearly stated criteria
  • Adequate coverage of outcomes as expressed in our curriculum documents and KLA syllabus documents.
  • Teacher decisions are guided by our School Literacy and Numeracy plans which are still in the developmental stages.

Primary – Years 3-6 (Stage 2 and 3)

In all curriculum areas other than Religious Education, OLSH International will follow the guidelines and syllabuses of the NSW Board of Studies. Religious Education guidelines are prepared by Brisbane Catholic Education and form the basis of the Religious Education Program.

There are several nationally agreed key learning areas that are comprised in the NSW common curriculum for the compulsory years of schooling. In NSW they are:

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE), Mathematics, Creative Arts, Science and Technology, English, Human Society in it’s Environment (HSIE),

In a Catholic school Religious Education, is also included.

Middle School - Years 7 and 8 (Stage 4)

Year 7 and 8 program will be developed and structured in such a way as to provide a seamless transition for learners from year 7 to year 10. This middle school program will promote and continue the development of pedagogues already established in the Early and Primary Years. Programs will develop multi-literacies, enquiry-based learning and will engage students in the complete process from planning to assessment.

During Years 7 and 8, students will study outcomes from the Stage 4 Syllabi. The subjects studied will be:

English, Mathematics, Science, Geography, History, Commerce, Technology, PDHPE, Visual Arts, Music, Religious Education, Chinese

High School - Years 9 and 10 (Stage 5)

Religious Education, English, Mathematics, Science, Commerce, History, Geography, Technology, Personal Development, Health and Physical Education, Music, Visual Arts.

Secondary School - Years 11 and 12 (Stage 6)

Compulsory Subjects

Study of Religion, Language and Literature, General Mathematics Or Advanced Mathematics

Elective Subjects - 3 to be chosen

Chemistry, Physics, Geography, History, Economics, Business Studies, Legal Studies, Accounting, Tourism Studies, Marine Biology, Information Processing Technology.

Religious Education

Religious Education is an important dimension of all Catholic schools. In the early years, children will be introduced to the two dimensions of Religious Education; namely the classroom teaching of Religion and the Religious life of the school. The focus of the classroom teaching of Religion is educational as it aims to develop your child’s Religious literacy. Guidelines for the teaching of Religious Education are prepared by Brisbane Catholic Education and are used by all teachers in constructing meaningful and relevant integrated units. Children will also experience the Religious life of the school through the expressions of its lived Catholic Christian ethos and values, and its Religious celebrations and prayers.

Back to Curriculum